Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Musical America's 2010 Collaborative Pianist of the Year: Warren Jones

Musical America has just announced its lineup of top musicians of the year for 2010, and congratulations go to Warren Jones for winning the award for Best Collaborative Pianist. From the Musical America press release:
Warren Jones compares partnering soloists to playing doubles tennis because the endeavor has to be an equal relationship. Few collaborative pianists—a term now preferred to “accompanist”—have enhanced the performances of so many of the world’s greatest singers and instrumentalists. Among those benefitting from his nuanced, insightful, and virtuosic artistry are Marilyn Horne, Kathleen Battle, Samuel Ramey, Kiri Te Kanawa, and Stephanie Blythe. In soprano Ruth Ann Swenson’s words, “He’s one of the greatest musicians I’ve ever known. I trust him completely.”
The other 2010 winners:
  • Riccardo Muti, Musician of the Year
  • Louis Andriessen, Composer of the Year
  • Joshua Bell, Instrumentalist of the Year
  • Elina Garanca, Vocalist of the Year

No comments:

Post a Comment