Wednesday, December 20, 2006

J.S. Bach makes appearance on Sequenza 21/

Galen H. Brown has received a visit from the Kappelmeister himself. A snippet:

But an old harpsichord and eight ghostly composers,
With an old kappelmeister conducting the flock –
I knew in a moment it had to be Bach.
More rapid than Valkyries, onward they came,
And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name;
“Now, Mozart! now, Lassus! now, Schoenberg and Dvorak!
On, Cage! on Beethoven! on, Haydn and Bartok!
To the dominant seven! To suspended six-four!
Now dash away! dash away! appoggiatur’!”

See the rest here.

No comments:

Post a Comment