Tuesday, April 08, 2008

Where To Go and When for This Friday's CBC Protests

Tanya Battaglia of the Elektra Women's Choir has generously sent along this press release with the latest information on Friday's cross-Canada protests against the cuts to classical music and the CBC Radio Orchestra:

This email is to inform you of “A National Day of Action to save CBC Radio 2 and the CBC Radio Orchestra” taking place on April 11 in major cities across Canada, mainly in front of CBC buildings. There are over 15,000 Canadians involved in this grassroots movement.

Please relay Friday’s nationwide rally information to your groups, students, friends, family, fellow musicians, and whomever you think is interested. Forward this email to your contacts too.

They will be short, but very energetic rallies. Bring signs and songs! Tell your local media!

Full list of rallies happening in sync across Canada on Friday April 11

9am Pacific: Victoria: 1025 Pandora Avenue
Contact: Cecilia Porter - ceciliap [at] uvic.ca


9am Pacific: Vancouver: 775 Cambie Street
Contacts: David Taylor Gill - dtg1 [at] sfu.ca
Jocelyn Morlock – jocelynmorlock [at] yahoo.ca
John Oliver – joliver1 [at] earsay.com
Michael Vincent – info [at] michaelvincent.ca


10am Mountain: Calgary: 1724 Westmount Blvd. NW
Contact - Andrew Nowry Andrewnowry [at] gmail.com
Darren Young - silentearth66 [at] hotmail.com


10am Mountain: Edmonton: 23 Edmonton City Centre, 10062-102nd Avenue
Contacts - Scott Bursey - scottbursey@gmail.com
John Brough – jsbrough@shaw.ca
Peter McGillivray radio2@petermcgillivray.com


10am Sask: Saskatoon: CBC 144 2nd Ave South
Contacts: Lorraine McGrath Khachtourians
Brendan McLean - bjm384 [at] mail.usask.ca


10am Sask: Regina: 2440 Broad Street
No contact yet


11am Central: Winnipeg: 541 Portage Avenue
Contact: Jonathan Klassen - jklasse [at] gmail.com


12pm Eastern: Toronto: 250 Front Street West
Contacts: James Baldwin jamesmichaelbaldwin [at] rogers.com
Chris Foley collaborativepiano [at] gmail.com
Kathleen Rudolph Jkrudolph5 [at] aol.com
Julia Mah - fairside61 [at] hotmail.com


12pm Eastern: London, ON: 208 Piccadilly Street
Contact: Forrest Pass - fpass [at] uwo.ca
Durval Cesetti - durval.cesetti.cbcprotestlondon [at] gmail.com


12pm Eastern: Ottawa: 181 Queen Street, Ottawa - Meeting at Sparks Street entrance
Contact: James Wooten - cbcradiotwoandme [at] hotmail.com
Gary Hayes - cansona [at] rogers.com


12pm Eastern: Montreal: 1400 Rene Levesque East
Contact-Alexandra Fol - alexandra.fol [at] mail.mcgill.ca
Emily Gray - contra_alto [at] hotmail.com
Michael Shannon - michael.shannon [at] mail.mcgill.ca

Saint John

1pm Atlantic: Saint John: 560 Main Street
No contact yet


1pm Atlantic: Halifax: 1601 South Park
Contact: Christian Stalley - cspstudio [at] yahoo.ca
Stephanie Moore - st886157 [at] dal.ca
Janet Brush - thunderbug22003 [at] yahoo.ca


1pm Atlantic: Charlottetown: 430 University Avenue
Contact Kate Huston - drummingdiva [at] hotmail.com

St John

1pm AST: Saint John: 560 Main Street
No contact yet


1:30pm Newfoundland: St John's: 25 Henry Street
Contact: Heather Joyce - livingabundance [at] hotmail.com

For more rally details, please visit one of these websites:
For more information on the movement, please visit composer John Oliver's comprehensive site:

Kind regards,

Tanya Battaglia


Member of Elektra Women's Chorus

If you happen to have any regional updates on the protests, please feel free to contact me and I can post any additional information!

Update 4/10:

Tanya sends along updated information for the St. John (New Brunswick) St. John's (Newfoundland), Regina, and Fredericton gatherings:

St. John St. John's: "Update!! Apparently we had the wrong address for the CBC in St John's. Henry street is the old abandoned building. The protest will meet at 1:30pm at the NEW building on Prince Phillip Drive and someone will post a notice at the old location.

Regina: Also Regina has a new contact: Pauline Minevich of the Regina Symphony has graciously accepted this position: Pauline.Minevich [a] uregina.ca.

Fredericton: And there seems to be a lot of concern that the Fredericton demo was left off the press release. We say if people want to go - go! We suspect there will be a lively if small crowd there."

No comments:

Post a Comment